Wrestling (Girls) Wrestling (V & JV) Wrestling (JV)

East Wrestling: O's Win Big Over Bloomington South

By Dennis Pierce | Jan 12, 2024 7:15 AM

Thursday night at the Orange Pit was a rollercoaster of emotions as the Olympians rocked Senior Night and cheered Coach Chris Cooper's 300th win celebration. But after all the hype settled, it was game on for the Olympians on the mat, and they didn't disappoint, taking down the Bloomington South Panthers with a solid 50-18 victory. The varsity match wasn't just about the big scores – it included some fierce JV and girls matches too. It was a great night to be an OLYMPIAN WRESTLER! Looking ahead, the Columbus East varsity wrestlers are diving back into action this Saturday at the HHC Tournament in Seymour, IN. Meanwhile, the JV squad is hitting up Southridge H.S. for the Southridge JV tourney. Go get 'em, O's! Match stats: 106 Talon Jessup (Columbus East) over Unknown (For.) 113 Jaxsen Jean (Bloomington South) over Ethan Poling (Columbus East) (Dec 2-0) 120 Wyatt Behnke (Columbus East) over Nolan Langley (Bloomington South) (Fall 5:52) 126 Gage Rutan (Columbus East) over Brian Conley (Bloomington South) (TF 22-7 0:00) 132 Amrin Pratt (Bloomington South) over Aiden Miller (Columbus East) (Dec 9-6) 138 Caleb Kirkpatrick (Columbus East) over Gabe Oliger (Bloomington South) (Fall 3:08) 144 Wyatt Cooksey (Bloomington South) over Caleb Cooper (Columbus East) (Dec 5-4) 150 Nate Anderson (Columbus East) over Carson Bohall (Bloomington South) (TF 16-0 0:00) 157 Lincoln Cooper (Columbus East) over Quincy Edwards (Bloomington South) (Fall 1:50) 165 Hank Redman (Columbus East) over Tristian Hicks (Bloomington South) (MD 16-4) 175 Evan Roudebush (Bloomington South) over Tyler Lake (Columbus East) (Fall 1:44) 190 Colin McMahon (Columbus East) over Mason Grubb (Bloomington South) (Fall 6:58) 215 Oliver Piwoszkin (Bloomington South) over James Moss (Columbus East) (Dec 4-1) 285 Dominic Piper (Columbus East) over Johnathan Merriman (Bloomington South) (Fall 1:51) CEHS JV & Girls Match winners: Girls Winners- Taylor Engelking, Lucinda Destin, Madison Mount JV Boys Winners- Nelson Kinman, Eric Duncan